I’m a purist, not an elitist

Standard

To those of you who enjoy my blog, who have ever pressed the ‘like’ button on a post, and/or follow my blog: Thank you. Haiku has quickly become a life-passion for me. After reading “The Essential Haiku: Versions of Basho, Buson, & Issa” by former Poet Laureate of the United States, Robert Hass, not long ago, I was hooked on haiku. Before reading Hass’ book, which I actually picked up on a whim at a local second-hand store for $1, I never thought much about haiku. To me, it was a distant memory of elementary school, an ambiguous three-lined poem that I had practically forgotten. Things have certainly changed for me since reading that book, which I recommend. Learning about the history of haiku, it’s greatest masters, and the culture from which it all sprung is such a rewarding experience for me. As of the date of this writing, I am currently reading the 25th edition of The Haiku Handbook by William J. Higginson and Penny Harter. It’s a wonderful read fraught with so much useful information. I highly recommend it to anyone seriously studying haiku.  

 Haiku is both a mental game and way of relaxation, for me, as well as a way to appreciate the natural world, express creativity, and honor the old masters by committing myself to their path: the Haiku no michi. With that, I’d like to say that I’m a purist and not an elitist. I love the poems of Matsuo Basho and so I wish to emulate his style by keeping within the traditions and boundaries that he, himself, was accustomed to.

Since immersing myself in everything haiku, I have come to discover that there exist many different schools of thought on the subject. Traditional and modern and everything in between. Most of which I have posted about on my blog is the traditional way, as it is my personal preference. Although my aim is to be a haiku purist, I do not discourage anyone who does things differently. I encourage others to pick up on writing haiku, no matter how they choose to do so. My very purpose for creating this blog was to create a resource for haiku enthusiasts to use. I hope it has been of both interest and help. Feel free to ask questions or request a subject to be addressed.

Thank you again, everyone. Keep calm and Haiku. 

4 thoughts on “I’m a purist, not an elitist

  1. pi314chron

    A thankless task in either case…for those who love roller skating uphill. Part of the challenge is discovering that what you preach as gospel truth today will be haiku heresy tomorrow. But I bid you clear skies and smooth sailing. It’s a great life if you don’t weaken.

    Respectfully,

    Ron

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Classic Tradition of Haiku (Bowers, ed.) is also a handy collection in an inexpensive Dover edition. I just found that one (in a used book store too) this summer. I don’t write much in this form but enjoy most of all the concision and precision of it. It’s finding three lines that drop like the proverbial pebble in the pond and have that expansive quality immediately.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

